Site Nomination for Peat Site Profiles in Southeast Asia

Definition of Categories:

  1. Protected Areas

    Peatland areas which are legally formed and protected under the regional, national or local legislation for conservation and socio-cultural purposes. It also includes peatlands of international importance which were declared under International conventions.

    For example:

  2. Best Management Practice Sites

    These refer to existing peatland sites that have been designated for specific purposes (e.g. agriculture, plantation, ecotourism etc.), located on government, private or community land. Nevertheless, management interventions are in place and best management practices (e.g. water management, fire management, rehabilitation, community-based conservation etc.) have been initiated and implemented on the ground to ensure that the peatland is managed sustainably.

    These areas can include:
  3. High Conservation Value Forest (HCVF)

    High Conservation Value Forests (HCVF) designation depends solely on the presence of HCVs within the forest. For this exercise, we adapted the concept of HCVF from the FSC principles and criteria to HCVs found in peatland forests in Southeast Asia. Here management intervention is needed to maintain or enhance the identified HCVs in the identified/nominated peatland sites. This category is only applicable if your nominated site does not fit the criteria of the protected area or best management practice sites.

    HCVFs are areas that possess one or more of the following attributes:

(FSC Principles and Criteria, February 2000)

HCVF are simply the forests where these values are found. A HCVF may therefore be a small part of a larger forest, a small patch of a rare ecosystem or the whole of a forest management unit.